Enter the 2020 Independent Publishing Awards!


It’s time to enter the Independent Publishing Awards! We hope that you will consider putting yourself forward for at least one category, and make our 2020 Awards the biggest and best celebration of independent publishing yet.

We launched the Awards in 2007, and will be presenting them for the 14th time this year. Over the years we have presented 160 Awards to 162 winners (two were jointly given), and to 75 different companies and 15 individuals. Our leading multiple winner is Nosy Crow with 13 company and one individual wins, followed by Faber & Faber with 12. Eleven more publishers have won three or more Awards: Bloomsbury, Constable & Robinson, Search Press, Alastair Sawday Publishing, Edward Elgar Publishing, How2Become, Earthscan, Jolly Learning, Maths – No Problem!, Pavilion Books and SPCK. Thirteen different publishers have scooped the most prestigious accolade of all: the overall Independent Publisher of the Year.

We know that winning an Award means a great deal to our recipients. Rachel Alexander, communications director at Faber & Faber, says of being named Ingram Content Group Independent Publisher of the Year in 2019: “We were absolutely thrilled, both on the night, and when bringing home the handsome trophy to the company. It is very encouraging for everyone in the business to have their efforts acknowledged by our peers in the industry, and while success is its own reward, there is something special about public acknowledgement.” You can read what other winners have to say about the Awards here.

Could you join our wonderful roll call of winners in 2020? There’s only one way to find out! Entering the Awards is quick and easy, and we have a new online platform for 2020 that should make the process even simpler. You can start the process here.

Before you do, take a look at the resources on offer in the Awards section of the website. Here you’ll find details of all the categories you can enter, guides to what the judges will be looking for and to what you need to submit, FAQs about the Awards, top tips for crafting a great entry and a sample submission.

The deadline for entries is Thursday 5 March 2020. After that, our judges—experts sharing hundreds of years of experience right across publishing—will meet to decide the shortlists, which we’ll announce on Friday 27 March. The winners will be named at a Gala Dinner during our Spring Conference on Wednesday 29 April, and we hope you’ll join us there.

If you have any queries about the Independent Publishing Awards, or are uncertain about which category to enter, we’ll be pleased to help: just email us or call 01437 563335.

Enter the Independent Publishing Awards here.